Commanding Officers

The following is a list of Commanding Officers of the Queen’s Own Rifles Regiment and Battalions:

The Queen’s Own Rifles Colonel Commandants

From 10 Apr 1906 to 1937,  when the regiment consisted of two militia battalions in Toronto, the regimental commander was known as the Colonel Commandant.

Perpetuated Battalions of the Canadian Expeditionary Force

3rd Battalion (Toronto Regiment)

83rd Battalion (Queen’s Own Rifles)

95th Battalion

166th QOR Battalion

198th Overseas Battalion, Canadian Buffs

255th Battalion

The Queen’s Own Rifles Colonel Commandants continued

First Battalion (later perpetuating 3rd Battalion CEF)

Second Battalion (later perpetuating 83rd Battalion CEF)

Third (Reserve) Battalion (95th Battalion CEF)

Fourth (Reserve) Battalion (166th Battalion CEF)

Fifth (Reserve) Battalion (198th Battalion CEF)

Sixth (Reserve) Battalion (255th Battalion CEF)

  • 12 May 1922 to at least Jul 1932
    Lieutenant Colonel Sidney W. Band, VD
  • October 1935
    Lieutenant Colonel H.E. Rooney, VD

Reserve Regimental Depot
It would seem by 1937 all the QOR Reserve Battalions were condensed into the Reserve Regimental Depot.

  • 15 Dec 1936 to 1939 at least

Single Reserve Battalion
(On Dec 15, 1936 the 1st and 2nd Battalions were combined to form a single battalion.)

1st Battalion (Active Service)

2nd Battalion (Reserves)

3rd Battalion (CASF)

4th Battalion (CAOF)

27th (Reserve) Company Veterans Guard of Canada attached to 2nd Battalion QOR

  • 1944 – Officer Commanding – Major John E. Bell
    • 1944 – 2nd in Charge – Captain William S. Herbert, MC

Post War Reserve Battalion

1st Battalion – Regular Force

2nd Battalion – Regular Force

Regimental Depot – Regular Force (Calgary)

  • 1 Mar 1954 to 15 Oct 1955
    Major C. D. Rehill CD
  • 16 Oct 1955 to 31 May 1957
    Major C. J. Doerkson CD
  • 1 Jun 1957 to 29 Aug 1962
    Major D. M. Creighton CD
  • 30 Aug 1962 to 2 Dec 1968
    Major J. L. McCulloch CD

3rd Battalion – Reserves

2 thoughts on “Commanding Officers”

  1. I was with, Colonel Neville Arthur Robinson, in 1966 1967 in Calgary ,and I consider that he was the BEST CO that I ever had during my 35 years of services in the Canadian Armed Forces. I was the only Postal Clerk with the batallion then, approximitely 900 mens and he use to say, Cpl Lavigne I know your the only one of your trade but if someone gives you a hard time my door his alway’s open just come in.


  2. Not sure this is the right place to be but I was at Ridgeway today and wanted to commend the unit for the exemplary showing they performed.

    Liked by 1 person

We welcome your comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

"In Pace Paratus – In Peace Prepared"

%d bloggers like this: